Disaster Relief for Taxpayers Affected by California Wildfires

October 20, 2017

Taxpayers affected by the wildfires in California that began October 8, 2017 may qualify for tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service. The President declared that a major disaster exists in the state of California and as of October 16, 2017, the following counties are impacted:

  • Butte
  • Lake
  • Mendocino
  • Napa
  • Nevada
  • Sonoma
  • Yuba

Taxpayer who reside or have a business in these counties may qualify for tax relief.

Tax assistance and information is available on the IRS’s website for those impacted by the California wildfires. The IRS continues to update this information as details are available. Please visit this site for new and updated information.

All California Taxpayer Advocate Service (TAS) offices are open and ready to assist taxpayers. You may visit the TAS website to find your local office under the Contact Us page.